Day 5: Savannah, GA to Jacksonville, FL

Today, I had an amazing day. I was part of Team 4. On my team were Kevin Spurrier, Keely Ireland, Jason Horn and Kathy Evans. We started our morning off at a small cancer center called the South East Georgia Health System Brunswick Campus in Georgia. While we were there we got a tour of their facility. They do one of the cutting edge treatments for many types of cancers called cyberknife radiation. This may sound scary, but it actually doesn’t involve a knife at all. So what is cyberknife radiation?

Using image guided technology and advanced robotics, CyberKnife uses sub-millimeter accuracy to target radiation beams and destroy abnormal cells within the body, while sparing healthy cells.

CyberKnife can be used to treat tumors throughout the body due to its frameless technology that spots the exact shape and location of a tumor while delivering highly concentrated beams of radiation from multiple positions and angles.

CyberKnife is painless. In fact, patients go home the same day and usually go about their normal routine.

CyberKnife Radiation room

CyberKnife Radiation room

DSC_0496

Presenting one of our signed jerseys to the Enzo, the Director of Cancer Care Centers.

After this very informative visit we headed out to the parking lot to get on our bikes and head out to Jacksonville. We were loving that the sun was shining and that it was so warm. Today called for lots of sunscreen!

DSC_0511

Goodbye, Georgia!

One of our first big challenges was the bridge in Brunswick. I had a long steady climb to the top of the bridge. Normally, I would be a bit worried, but today was very different. As I started on our ride, I felt very different. I felt STRONG and very comfortable on my bike. I knew that I wasn’t going to let big bridge intimidate me. So onward we went. Luckily we arrived at the bridge fairly early on with fresh legs to get us over the hill. And you know what?…I slated that bridge. For the first time I was the first one to the top of the bridge. And boy was that a great feeling!

2_brunswick_cable_stayed_bridge

 

The rest of our right our team had fun. We stopped for a few pictures and chatted along the way. It was a fabulous day. Here are some the interesting, funny and strange things we saw along the way.

IMG_8805

At the top of the Brunswick Bridge with Keely and Jason

At the top of the Brunswick Bridge with Keely and Jason

Our entire team at the top of the bridge.

Our entire team at the top of the bridge.

 

Mad Maggie's

Mad Maggie’s

IMG_8826

Selfie of Me and Jason

Hmmm...Very strange sign we came across.

Hmmm…Very strange sign we came across.

Old Post Office

Old Post Office

Kevin on Highway 17

Kevin on Highway 17

My Team following me

My Team following me

IMG_8831

Spanish Moss

Taking a break

Taking a break

DSC_0663

DSC_0692

<div id=”fb-root”></div> <script>(function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.src = “//connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js#xfbml=1″; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));</script>
<div class=”fb-post” data-href=”https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=636611813098447″ data-width=”466″><div class=”fb-xfbml-parse-ignore”><a href=”https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=636611813098447″>Post</a> by <a href=”https://www.facebook.com/kevin.d.spurrier”>Kevin D. Spurrier</a>.</div></div>

Making my Key to Keys Mark at Capt'n Stan's This place was AWESOME!

Making my Key to Keys Mark at Capt’n Stan’s This place was AWESOME!

DSC_0698

Day 3 Complete! 32 miles

So let’s answer a few great questions from Mrs. Horst’s 3rd grade class (Brady’s Class)

Where are you riding today?

On Thursday morning we will be riding from Jacksonville, FL to Vero Beach, FL.

How many hours a day are you riding?

We ride between 3 and 5 hours each day. Some groups ride longer because they have longer distances.

How many miles are you responsible for riding each day?

Each team has a different number of miles to cover each day. There are 5 teams and we finish the daily mileage as a rolling relay. The first day I rode 47 miles. The 2nd day I rode 57 miles. The past 3 days I have ridden around 37 miles each day.


Where do you sleep?

We sleep in hotels in each new city.


What do you do when you are riding your bike and you have to go to the bathroom?

This is a very good question. We usually stop and go. Here is a great picture from one of the teams.

Bathroom Break

Bathroom Break

Where and what have you been eating?

We eat breakfast each morning at the hotel. Lunch is usually a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Dinners are usually eaten as a team at the hotel or restaurant.

Can you send us some pictures of landforms in the areas you pass?

I will keep my eye out for some cool landforms.

Do you feel healthy after all of that exercise?

I am really starting to feel extremely strong. Biking is excellent exercise.

Do you miss Brady the most? (submitted by Brady)

I miss everyone! But I do miss Brady’s wonderful smile.

 

Leave a Reply

